Lee County School District Accepted into National Network of Innovative School Districts

Lee County School District joins Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools, will partner with other leading educators, entrepreneurs, and researchers from across the U.S.

Beattyville, Kentucky – Lee County School District is one of 19 new school districts accepted into the League of Innovative Schools today, a national coalition of forward-thinking school districts organized by Digital Promise, an independent, bipartisan nonprofit organization authorized by Congress to accelerate innovation in education.

Lee County School District was selected from a competitive and national pool of applicants based on its leadership, evidence of results, innovative vision for learning, and commitment to collaboration.

img_9998Lee County School Superintendent, Dr. Jim Evans, “It is a great honor, and we celebrate joining 86 school districts and education agencies throughout the nation who were recognized as being forward-thinking and innovative.  This designation reaffirms Lee County Schools’ vision and commitment to enhance student learning through innovation and technology and provide every student access to personalized learning anytime, anywhere to meet specific student needs and create independent, confident learners who are globally competitive.”

The League of Innovative Schools, launched in late 2011, accepts new members through an open application process once per year. With the new members, the League now includes 87 school districts in 33 states, representing nearly 3.3 million students. The full list of members can be found at digitalpromise.org/districts.

“The League of Innovative Schools connects and rallies the most dynamic leaders of the nation’s school districts in order to advance positive change in public education,” said Sara Schapiro, senior director of the Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools. “As Digital Promise celebrates its fifth anniversary, we’re excited to welcome our new League members and amplify their insights to help others support teaching and learning with technology.”

League members are represented by their superintendent, who commits to:

  • Attend biannual League meetings, which feature classroom visits, collaborative problem-solving, and relationship-building with peers and partners;
  • Join working groups on a broad range of topics relevant to the changing needs of school districts;
  • Engage with entrepreneurs to advance product development and meet district needs;
  • Support research that expands what we know about teaching and learning; and
  • Participate in the League’s professional learning community by connecting with other members online, in person, and at each other’s school districts.

In addition to superintendents’ participation, there are also opportunities for other school administrators, principals, and teachers to participate in League and Digital Promise initiatives.

The League will officially welcome new members at its fall 2016 meeting on Nov. 2-4 in Baltimore County. The meeting will host about 200 national school leaders and prominent education experts, entrepreneurs, and officials, with the goal of addressing shared priorities and setting goals that district leaders will pursue throughout the year.

For more information on the Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools, visit:digitalpromise.org/league.

Students in featured image at Lee County Area Technology District retrofitted the Kentucky Valley Educational Cooperative‘s Mobile Inquiry Learning Lab (MILL) last year and were recently awarded Building if Forward funds to begin construction on a mobile tiny house, to be auctioned off at the Action Research Summit on April 12, 2017.